Uncategorized

The Book I Read: To Kill A Mockingbird

Image

It is the freaking the sweetest book I have ever read. When I first picked up this book I must have eleven or twelve. Then I thought it was the most boring shit on the planet. Because I was too young to understand it. But thank God that my mother recommended it again otherwise I would have gone through my entire life without reading it. And I would have lost out on so much. The same thing happened with Harry Potter. When I first picked it up I was too young to understand it but then I tried it again and look how that turned out. 

T o Kill A Mockingbird from the point of view of the eight year old Scout or Jean Louise as some would prefer it is like a blooming flower in it’s innocence. The fine method of story telling possessed by Harper Lee only makes it more page turning. It is no surprise that it won the Pulitzer Prize and has sold more than 30,000,000 copies.

Image

Here’s the summery from the back.

“Shoot all the blue jays you want, if you can hit ’em. But remember it is a sin to kill a mockingbird.”

A lawyer’s advice to his children as he defends the real mockingbird of this enchanting classic – a black man charged with the rape of a white girl.

Through the eyes of Scout and Jem Finch, Harper Lee explores with exuberant humor the irrationality of adult attitudes to race and class in the Deep South of the thirties. 

The conscience of a town steeped in prejudice, violence and hierocracy is pricked by the stamina of one man’s struggle for justice.

But the weight of history will only tolerate so much..

It’s a must read. It is beautiful

Image

Love,

Loozerina

Leave a Reply

