Uncategorized

Okayyy… Poetry timeee

So in school now,we are preparing for our IGCSE. So we have the Lit unseen passage paper, in which we’ll get an (obviously) unseen poem or passage and we have to analyse it. This sonnet was given to us to analyse by our teacher. It isn’t really hard, but the number of people who thought it was about a dog make me terrified for the future of my country. Or the world for that matter.

Oh, oh, you will be sorry for that word!

Give me back my book and take my kiss instead.

Was it my enemy or my friend I heard,-

“What a big book for such a little head!”

Come, I will show you my newest hat.

And you may watch me purse my mouth and prink!

Oh, I shall love you still, and all of that.

I never again shall tell you what I think.

I shall be sweet and crafty, soft and sly;

You will not catch me reading anymore:

I shall be called a wife to pattern by;

And some day when you knock and push the door,

Some sane day, not too bright and not too stormy,

I shall be gone, and you may whistle for me.

I don’t know about you, but it wasn’t that hard to understand what this poem was about. I don’t know how my classmates thought it was about a dog. It is so obvious that it’s about pedophilic vampires.

Yes, I know pedophilic isn’t actually a word, even I read The Fault In Our Stars… OKayy?

Leave a Reply

