Uncategorized

The Day I Met God, Part I (Sisters)

Waiting for Satan

1

My early childhood memory is a blurred-out Freudian fog of diluted spirituality, but, within the fog, several memories stand out like wayward stone statues. Among these one stands out in particular: the day I met God.

2

I was born first in my family, and enjoyed the attention for a solid eighteen months.

3

When my mother became pregnant with Sister-One, she endured countless horror stories about second children – mainly that the first child would become jealous about sharing the spotlight, and would inflict all manner of terrible punishment onto his new cohost.

andy and conan

Despite the warnings (and despite the fact that I already fulfilled every possible need a child could fulfill, MOM) they still decided to go through the creation of an unnecessary additional life.

how babies are made

Sister-One came into the world in the usual way, and we met.

4

Years of books, relatives, and PBS programs had prepared my mother for the plague…

View original post 308 more words

Leave a Reply

