Uncategorized

I Forgot How To Write

Hi,

So I haven’t written anything in a while. And not only on WordPress, I haven’t written anything other than my school assignments. It seems like I forgot how to write. No I can make sensible sentences. But I can no longer write what I want to say. Writing used to be like this window to my soul. I used to be able to express myself in writing which I couldn’t orally. Now it’s not like that. While my oral communication have grown better, my written ones have takes such a dip.

Even in my school assignments. English literature used to be my shit! Till this year began, I had never gotten less than at least an 80% in Lit. And now i’M GETTING SOME RIDICULOUS MARKS LIKE 16 ON 25!! I want to cry.

So.

I sat down and analysed whats wrong. Sure, eleventh grade Lit is much much harder than tenth grade lit. But it’s not like I dont understand the poems or the novels. I understand everything about it. I can analyse it better than anyone in class. Except, when I submit my essays, it sucks. I’m not able to figure out how to express my ideas in words.

So,

After long hors of agony and analysis, I figured out what was wrong. I had stopped reading. I hadn’t read a book since eleventh grade began. Me! Who used to read three books a week! I hadn’t read a book in months, and the sad part? I wasn’t interested in reading.

So I decided to try my theory out. I’m going to do half an hour of reading every day. I’m reading ‘The Good Earth’ by Pearl S. Buck right now. And it’s beautiful!

I love it. Everyone should read it.

I hope my English gets better though.

Leave a Reply

